Sum 41 Found The Right Treatment in St. Louis

Wed, Jan 30, 2013 at 3:41 PM by User 1 Comments

“So you like the metal, do you?” Deryck Whibley, lead singer of the punk rock bandSum 41 asked the vociferous at Pop’s Nightclub in Sauget Tuesday night early on as the band rocked through many of their hits, and paid homage to artists that helped pave the way for their style of music throughout their set.

Sum 41 cruised through an 18 song set that relied heavily on their marquee album “Does This Look Infected”. That is not just by chance, however, as the band is celebrating the album’s 10th year of release with this tour.

With a style heavy on the punk side, but with obvious nods to metal and pop/rock, the guys established a vibe that resonated throughout the venue, starting with their first song "The Hell Song" and never looked back.

During “We’re All Too Blame” Whibley invited several people up on the stage to watch the rest of the show from the side of the stage. Handpicking who came up onto the stage the crowd surged forward to try to catch the roving eye of Whibley.

All through the set the tempo was kept at a feverish pace, and the band (drummer Steve Jocz, bassist Jason “Cone” McCaslin and guitarist Tom Thacker) were exceptionally tight for the entire set, just like a good veteran band should be. But what was surprising was they didn’t have the attitude of a veteran band. That is, they still seemed hungry, real hungry, the type of hungry that an unsigned band has playing for its life and the opportunity to finally catch their big break. Many bands lose that hunger after over a decade in the spotlight. But Sum 41 still appears to have that hunger, and the audience certainly fed off it.

It was interesting to hear punk versions of Queen’s “We Will Rock You” and the Beastie Boys’ “Sabotage”, as they brought a unique spin to a couple of great rock songs.

It would be hard to pick just one highlight from this night and the crowd surfing and rowdiness just complimented an already stellar night. The band will be taking some time off this summer to record a new album. So if anyone has brushed off this band as has-beens needs to see them live to have a change of heart.

Hunter Valentine and IAMDYNAMITE opened and the duo who is IAMDYNAMITE played a spirited set and sounded much fuller than just a guitar and drums. The women who compromise Hunter Valentine (Guitarist/vocalist Kiyomi McCloskey, drummer Laura Petracca, bassist Veronica Sanchez and guitarist Aimee Bessada) just flat out rocked and set the tone for the night with a splendid lively set.

Sum 41 Setlist:

1) The Hell Song

2) Motivation

3) We’re All To Blame

4) In Too Deep

5) Walking Disaster

6) Skumfuk

7) Over My Head (Better off Dead)

8) My Direction

9) A.N.I.C.

10) No Brains

11) Mr. Amsterdam

12) Sick of Everyone

13) Underclass Hero

14) Still Waiting


15) We Will Rock You (Queen cover)

16) Sabotage (Beastie Boys cover)

17) Fat Lip

18) Pain for Pleasure

Check out the full article by Sean Derrick for (includes photo slide show)

  1. iHazzya avatar

    On Mon, Mar 25, 2013, iHazzya said:

    i was there. luv ya cone!<3

Post a comment